Easy DIY Frozen Breakfast Burritos

Hello everyone!! How many of you have heard that breakfast is the most important meal of the day? If you have not hear that then I will be the first of many to tell you that breakfast is a must to kickstart your metabolism for the day! I will be upfront with you all and tell you that I am horrible at eating breakfast. Now don’t get me wrong, I absolutely LOVE breakfast, what I don’t love are mornings. I don’t think that it is considered breakfast if you are eating it a 1 in the afternoon but I could be wrong. I especially find it hard to eat breakfast on the days that I have to work because I would rather sleep an extra 10 minutes than have to get up and make something to eat #slothhappens, but I did find an incredible solution… breakfast burritos!! I mean who doesn’t love burritos, am I right? Especially when they are low calorie and easy to make! I love to make these at the beginning of the week to keep in the freezer, the meal prep time is seriously less than 10 to 15 minutes and on top of that for a whole week you have a yummy easy breakfast for the whole week ( or even lunch or dinner). I thought I would share this little secret jewel with you guys if you haven’t already found a recipe like this for yourself.

Ingredients

8 egg whites

1 package flat out tortillas

Optional : you can add any sort of vegetable to this mix or even cooked ground turkey if you are not worried about keeping it super low calorie. I add kale to mine and keep it simple but it would really yummy to add bell peppers or mushrooms! Using only kale and egg whites the burritos usually come out to about 120 calories per burrito.

Cooking instructions

Start by separating egg whites into a bowl.

Scramble egg whites, add salt and pepper.

In a medium skillet scramble the egg whites over medium to high heat making sure to spray the pan with cooking oil first. (a little tip, if you spray the spoon or spatula you use with olive oil too it will keep the eggs from sticking to it as much)

Add your veggies to the scramble making sure not to overcook the egg since they will cook slightly more when you microwave them.

Set eggs aside.

Lay out the flat out tortillas (I chose flat out for the purpose of the protein and the low calories) there should be 6 tortillas in a package.

Divide the eggs evenly onto tortillas.

I also top my eggs with sriracha for some extra flavor and spice.

Roll burritos and wrap in saran wrap and place in freezer and voila you have yummy burritos ready to go! All you have to do to eat after they have been frozen is to unwrap them from the saran wrap and wrap them loosely in a paper towel and microwave them for one minute!

Now if you like to sleep like I do you can make these one afternoon and always have a quick breakfast or snack ready to go! 🙂 you’re welcome!! I hope you enjoy! (I like to pair mine with fruit, usually a cutie because they are easy and ready to go and coffee!)

Let me know what you like to add to your burritos using #slothhappens 🙂

One thought on “Easy DIY Frozen Breakfast Burritos

Leave a comment